30 Days of Gratitude: Day 5

See the final results of my 30 Days of Gratitude challenge here: 30 Days of Gratitude: Final Reflections.

  1. It’s Saturday (and I don’t HAVE to work today – but I might anyway). I’m thankful that I have a job where I can work 40 hours a week or so, without tons of overtime. I know there are many out there who do not have such luxury – either their job is really demanding, or they have to work multiple jobs to pay the rent. Sometimes people who make more money believe that those who are poor somehow work less, but I don’t believe that – I can’t imagine how hard it must be for those who work in retail or the customer service industry. They don’t even get holidays off!
  2. Fermented cod liver oil. Say whaaaaaaaaaat? Yeah, I know it sounds gross. It doesn’t taste the best either. And it’s expensive. But I take 5ml of it every  morning, and it does WONDERS for my seasonal affective disorder. When I take it, the world seems a little brighter and everything seems more possible. Without it, I feel angry, irritable, and helpless. It also seems to boost your immunity – I normally get multiple nasty colds/flus every winter, but I only had one light cold this time around.
  3. The Hidden Brain podcast by NPR. I love this podcast. It features short episodes about social psychology, one of my favorite topics. Some interesting things I learned: daydreaming (without an action plan) actually makes you less likely to accomplish your goals, J. Marion Sims, the “Father of modern gynecology”, actually perfected his surgery techniques on slaves without anesthesia against their will, and what it’s like to be part of the 1 percent. I also appreciate that the episodes are short (<30 minutes), so I can fit them into the average car ride.
  4. My Loaded Bhangra longboard. I bought it last weekend – it cost around $300, but for someone who loves to longboard, it was totally worth it. I started out on a cheaper setup (MBS All-Terrain longboard), which I still love, by the way – but the feel of the Loaded Bhangra is phenomenal. I really enjoy cruising around on it, and am learning my first longboard dancing steps. I feel very lucky to have the financial capability to afford such a high quality longboard, and the time to be able to practice longboarding 1 to 2 hours every day if I want to.
  5. The Icarus Deception by Seth Godin. I borrowed this book from the library – I’m only about 1/4 in, but the gist of what it’s about so far is putting your self out there, thinking outside the box, and being creative instead of “doing what you’re supposed to do”. I suppose it struck a note with me because I’ve been taught to “play it safe” all my life – study like crazy, go to a good college, get a good job, and keep your head down no matter what… which is great for job security (very important – I am not downplaying the value of this), but can sometimes feel a bit unfulfilling. That’s why I decided to create this blog – even if nobody reads it, at least it has the potential to touch someone out there.

What are you grateful for?

Leave a Reply

