30 Days of Gratitude: Day 6

See the final results of my 30 Days of Gratitude challenge here: 30 Days of Gratitude: Final Reflections.

I totally missed my post yesterday – not because I forgot about it, but because I was having a depressive episode. Things at work have been a little stressful lately – I have some coworkers who routinely complain about our teammates behind their backs instead of talking to them, which makes me feel uncomfortable at work. Normally, I cope by telling myself that their complaining is THEIR issue, and not mine, but sometimes it does get in my head. Having depression makes it worse, because it makes me feel helpless to do anything about it – so I end up sitting in a fog of unavoidable sadness for hours.

The bright side, is I’ve gotten much better at snapping out of depressive episodes – I’m not always successful (like yesterday), but I feel like I’m doing a lot better than before. In fact, writing these gratitude lists really help perk me up when I’m feeling down. And with that, here are the 5 things I’m thankful for:

  1. Broth. It’s weird, but I like to drink warm broth (usually chicken) every morning. It’s kind of weird, but researchers say it has health benefits. I have chronic stomach issues, and have found that broth really helps calm the inflammation. It’s definitely not a panacea, but I do feel like things run more smoothly when I’m drinking at least a cup a day.
  2. My health. Yes, it’s not perfect – in fact, I’ve felt sorry for myself about my health issues (thyroid problems, irritable bowel syndrome, seasonal affective disorder, autoimmune problems) for most of my life. I used to feel cheated that my health tanked when young, and I couldn’t do “college things” like party (forget alcohol when regular food makes you sick) or even meet up with friends (difficult when you’re sleeping 16 hours a day because of a thyroid issue). That said, over the past 5 years, I’ve experimented with alternative diets and found things that work for me. Now, it’s hard to tell I even have any health issues – and I can even have that drink once in a while if I’d like.
  3. Jane the Virgin. I’m honestly not much of a TV person, but I love this show! It’s entertaining. 🙂
  4. Blue blocking glasses. I put these things on every night to help me go to sleep on time. I find that if I don’t wear them, I end up staying up later and later, which ultimately gives me insomnia since I always wake up around 7am. I put on the glasses early last night, and was able to get a great night’s sleep for the first time in a couple days. I’m glad that I have the energy to get to work!
  5. You! I’ve noticed I’ve gotten a few likes (thanks again!) and I’m happy to have touched your life in some way. I don’t expect anyone to really care about my posts, but part of the reason I created this blog instead of writing these things in a journal is to share my journey towards happiness with the world. I feel like there are plenty of blogs by enlightened people out there giving advice, but they often don’t chronicle all the steps it took to BECOME enlightened. In the same way I find reading others’ “diet logs” helpful to see if a diet is likely to work for me, I hope reading my blog can help you see if things like “30 Days of Gratitude” actually work.

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

