30 Days of Gratitude: Day 9

See the final results of my 30 Days of Gratitude challenge here: 30 Days of Gratitude: Final Reflections.

It’s such a beautiful day today! I can’t believe it’s Thursday – I swear it was Monday just a second ago. I’m feeling pretty good this morning – I woke up a little anxious about work, but I did a 5 minute meditation session with my emWave2 (a device that helps you meditate) and now I feel a lot better. Without further ado, here are the 5 things I’m thankful for today:

  1. My emWave2. The thing I love about the emWave2 is it provides feedback on how well you’re doing while you’re meditating – I’m not exactly sure how it works, but their hypothesis is that lower heart rate variability corresponds to a more meditative state… so by measuring your heart rate variability, you can get biofeedback on how your session is going. Before, I could never get into meditation because I’d have monkey mind, but using the emWave2 helps me clear my mind by focusing on keeping my score up. I’d recommend giving it a try!
  2. My longboards. When I’m not swamped with work (read: usually), I spend 30 minutes every morning longboarding in random parking lots around my office. While I’m not very good at it, and there’s something really weird about the image of a 25-year old engineer cruising around parking lots at 7:30am, it helps me clear my mind. There’s something about balancing on a 3 foot long piece of wood that makes you stop stressing about all the things you have to do that day… maybe because you’re focusing on balancing on that 3 foot long piece of wood instead. 😛
  3. All the beautiful trails where I live. I love how my office is right next to a beautiful trail that overlooks the wetlands. I also love how there’s a trail creek trail that’s not too far from my house. People always complain about the housing prices in the San Francisco Bay Area, but where else can you have such great weather AND such great job opportunities? (I’m an engineer who likes hiking so I’m biased – if you’re a fan of creature comforts, I wouldn’t recommend the area)
  4. My flexibility at work. I’ve worked from home 2 days this week, so I can concentrate (and take a break from the negative coworkers that trigger my anxiety). Most office jobs force you to be in the office 9 to 5, which is hard for me because well, I won’t be terribly productive if I’m having an anxiety attack/SAD/irritable bowel flares that day… meaning I’ll sit there moping around for 8 hours only to have to get the work done later when things clear up. Luckily for me, my boss is very results oriented, so I can work at times that best suit me. Every time I am frustrated by my job, I remind myself – where else would I get a high profile job with such flexibility that pays so well?
  5. Libraries. I know I pay taxes for them, but they’re GREAT. Where else can you get so many awesome books, for free? The best thing now, is my library has Kindle downloads – so all I have to do to check out a book is find it in the catalog online, and download it to my Kindle. Cool, right?

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

