30 Days of Gratitude: Day 11

See the final results of my 30 Days of Gratitude challenge here: 30 Days of Gratitude: Final Reflections.

Today was a weird morning. I started off trying to get some work done, and then got derailed into reading about “if-then planning” and how it helps you achieve your goals. Then, I got derailed into thinking about how “if-then planning” has actually wreaked havoc on my life, because I end to come up with a billion “ifs” and the “thens” tend to have another billion “ifs” in them… But that’s a blog post for another time. Now, I’d like to list the 5 things I’m grateful for today:

  1. VPN. Without it, I wouldn’t be able to work from home – which I do all the time. I’m so grateful we have it, because otherwise I’d have to go into the office and endure the crazy commute every day. Thank goodness for the technology!
  2. Email. I know, some parts of it can be annoying. But other parts are amazing – it’s (nearly) instant, and really facilitates communication. It allows me to keep in touch with people that I wouldn’t otherwise be able to. Speaking of which, I owe some friends an email!
  3. IKEA, the Disneyland of adults! I’m in love with some of the cute little plants there… I recently got a seat by the window, and I’m dying to put one of those “ginseng bonsai” (or whatever) plants on my desk. You know, spruce up my desk!

    Isn't it awesome??
    Isn’t it awesome??
  4. Nature. Coco Chanel said, “The best things in life are free. The second best things are very, very expensive.” She’s so darn right. I love to take walks around the beautiful San Francisco Bay Area and it dawned on me, I don’t need to be a millionaire or to enjoy this. Whether I have $80k or $800k, I still can enjoy it.
  5. Energy drinks. Oh, my old flame. In college, I was known for my energy drink addiction. At one point, I used to drink 4 cans a day. I now consume them responsibly (read: one can a day maximum), but there’s a sense of comfort in popping open a can of Rockstar and getting some code down. Old habits die hard, I guess.

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

