30 Days of Gratitude: Day 12

See the final results of my 30 Days of Gratitude challenge here: 30 Days of Gratitude: Final Reflections.

Woooooo! I can’t believe it’s Day 12 already – time sure flies! I’m very happy that I started to do this “gratitude experiment”. I talked with my roommate yesterday, and she says I’m already complaining much less. It’s honestly hard for me to tell, but I do feel like I tend to “catch” myself more than I used to. I feel like I’m able to better identify when I’m going down a “negativity spiral”, and take a breath, and say, “Ok, that’s enough. What are some things you’re grateful for?” On that note, here are the 5 things I’m grateful for:

  1. The weekend. I know some Parisians would think I work way too much (I know – I lived in Paris for a month – everyone looked at me like I was crazy when I’d talk about work), and even I think I work too much sometimes, but honestly, I’m grateful to have at least 2/7 days off if I choose. It wasn’t always that way, you know. Before the 1900’s, everyone worked 7 days a week. Many still do.
  2. The northern California weather. It’s raining today, but I’m still happy to enjoy the bright sunlight. I couldn’t imagine living somewhere like Tromso, Norway, where you don’t see the sun in the winter. I think my seasonal affective disorder would drive me crazy. I’d love to see the northern lights at least once, though.
  3. Granola/muesli. I don’t know who invented this stuff, but I fricking love it. Seriously. When I was younger, I’d get a cup of it every day. I know it’s not the healthiest for me, but I’m learning to practice moderation. Oh, moderation…
  4. Kefir. What’s that, you might ask? I like to describe it as a “yogurt drink”. I find that it really helps regulate my digestive system and reduce inflammation. I’m going to make some later today.
  5. Sardines. Like, seriously. They can be kind of gross sometimes (one time I got a sardine with this green blob in it – didn’t buy that brand again), but since I started eating them, my PMS has almost nearly gone away. Guys, that means not feeling like crap for 1/4 of the month – it means A LOT! I also like how they’re previously-portioned so it’s harder to overeat, and there’s no preparation involved. I eat a couple cans a week.

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

