30 Days of Gratitude: Day 13

See the final results of my 30 Days of Gratitude challenge here: 30 Days of Gratitude: Final Reflections.

Welcome to another week! I’m feeling a little exhausted this morning since I stayed up until 3am coding last night, but I’m grateful that I solved some problems I thought I wouldn’t otherwise be able to. I actually had a pretty productive evening last night – I was able to get a good 5 or 6 hours in, which is awesome. So even though I’m a bit tired, I’m pretty happy. I feel really great when I’m able to accomplish what I set out to do, even if it means I end up a little on the sleep deprived side. So without further ado, here are the 5 things I’m thankful for today:

  1. My coworkers. Yes, they’re not perfect – nobody is – but I’m thankful they do pretty good work. Thing is, when you’re a software engineer, you’re working on the same website (or platform, or whatever) with tons of other people. If they write great code, it makes your job easy. Conversely, if they write bad code, it makes your job hard. The code I work with today is infinitely better than the code I worked with at my old company. Thank goodness!
  2. US Wellness Meats. They ship high quality beef, poultry, and pork to your doorstep! They have THE BEST customer service – last time, they messed up my order (they sent me chicken drumsticks instead of chicken feet – a reasonable error, since I’m probably the only weird person that’s ordering chicken feet), but when I reached out to them, they responded within a couple hours. They shipped me the chicken feet that day, let me keep the drumsticks, and didn’t charge me anything. I was already a pretty loyal customer, but I really can’t commend them more highly now.
  3. My family. I’m staying with family friends right now to avoid the crazy San Francisco rents. Even though I don’t think I’ve been the best tenant (I’m kind of messy), they put up with me. I’m very grateful they let me stay, because it’s saved me tens of thousands of dollars over the years.
  4. Heated blankets. Seriously. I know I’m a wimp, wanting a heated blanket when it’s 55F, but they’re just so great! Regular heaters give me allergies (they tend to kick up the dust), but heated blankets are perfect. I originally balked at the price, but now I think they’re totally worth every penny.
  5. Toaster ovens. I use my toaster oven more than I use the microwave – I think it does a better job, without all the fuss of preheating a big oven. They also have some pretty big ones nowadays, so you can cook a lot of food. I saw one the other day at Target that claimed to be able to fit a whole pizza. A little crazy, but it’s perfect when you’re a family of 2 or 3!

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

