30 Days of Gratitude: Day 15

See the final results of my 30 Days of Gratitude challenge here: 30 Days of Gratitude: Final Reflections.

Hey, we’re at the halfway mark! I plan to write up a longer reflection on how I feel this “gratitude experiment” is going, but so far, so good. I have a lot of things to be thankful for today:

  1. I just released a huge feature! Well, it’s not technically “in the wild” right now, but it’s in the code – and will be a large part of my company’s “2.0” product launch. I’ve been working pretty long days for the past few weeks (and weekends), so I’m very glad that it’s in. It also passed a preliminary round of 30 minutes of testing, which is a huge relief since it wasn’t an easy feature to add. There were plenty of times when I freaked out during the development process (hence all the posts about anxiety), but I’m glad that things are starting to settle down.
  2. Free wifi. Thank you, to all the Starbuckses (?) and random cafes of the world! When I really need to concentrate and code something out, I often escape the office and work from cafes instead. It’s just a lot easier to focus, and there’s a bit of ambient noise so I can talk to myself to work through problems. (If it were totally silent, people would hear me and think I’m crazy…)
  3. International Women’s Day (today!). I’m shocked that my company actually supports it, and even said that nobody (women AND men) have to come into the office. Of course I still worked, but that’s not the point. Last year, I didn’t hear anything about it – maybe it was just the company I was working for, but this year, I’ve heard a lot of news. Some people even started a pay spreadsheet to make salary data more transparent. I was impressed by how some very senior people participated. While I feel like I am paid very fairly, I know on average there is a pay gap – so I am grateful that there are people who are trying to bring light to the issue.
  4. Men who support gender equality. A common stereotype in my industry is that male software engineers are insensitive “brogrammers”. While I do have friends/acquaintances who have had horrible experiences as software engineers (one girl was told “you’re too pretty to be an engineer”), the vast majority of guys I have met in my career have been great. Maybe I’ve just been lucky?
  5. WordPress. I love how WordPress allows me to connect with like-minded people. In fact, I stumbled upon Patti Clark’s blog yesterday – her post about self love resonated with me so much that I bought her book, This Way Up. I’m curious to see what insights it has about how women like me can lead more fulfilling lives.

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

