30 Days of Gratitude: Day 16

See the final results of my 30 Days of Gratitude challenge here: 30 Days of Gratitude: Final Reflections.

It’s a beautiful morning! I’m still a bit exhausted from the sleep deprivation over getting that big project out at work, but I’m looking forward to unwinding a bit (and maybe even an afternoon nap!) today. In the future, I want to work on spacing out my work better, so I don’t go through periods of insane work only to crash later… but we’ll get there. Sometimes I’m honestly not sure if it’s my anxiety that drives me to do things, or whether it’s actual work pressure – but in this case, I think it was both. Well, that’s an experiment for another day!

Here’s what I’m thankful for today:

  1. I get to work from home today (and in general). I know I’ve listed this one before, and like, 50% of my posts are about work (well, it is 50% of my waking day), but being able to work from home is one of the best things about my job. For one, it allows me to skip traffic when I’m not feeling it, and it allows me to only work when I’m “in the zone”. There are some days where I’m just not as productive – perhaps because of having stomach issues the night before or something – so it’s nice to be able to take a break when I need it, instead of having to trudge through a 9 to 5 day when I’m not being really productive.
  2. Daylight savings time. I’m more excited about it than Christmas, haha. As a former night-owl, I never thought there’d be a day I’d be looking forward to LOSING and hour, but I’m really looking forward to the longer days so I can stay at work later yet still get an evening walk around the local park in. I remember the first day of daylight savings time last year, when I was in the office at 6pm while it was still bright out, and wondering “Dang! Why do I have so much energy at 6pm?!”
  3. Mi Pueblo, this hispanic supermarket chain. I’m sure the local hispanics who know where to shop are like… “seriously?” but I don’t know any better, so I’m a huge fan. Their tacos and burritos beat Chipotle any day. They also have great service!
  4. Tres leches cake. Whoever invented that was a genius. Like, seriously.
  5. Abandoned parking lots next to my work. Sounds weird, right? Well, when you’re learning how to longboard, they’re perfect. BECAUSE they’re abandoned, there’s little chance of getting hit by a car or getting chased out by security. I used to longboard in my office parking lot, until a security guard called me “ma’am” and asked me whether I worked there… Awkward. (And am I really old enough to be a “ma’am” at 25?! Women in Silicon Valley don’t get married until their 30’s.) Someday, I’d love to be half as good as the viral longboard dancing girl, Hyojoo Ko:

Well, that’s it for today. What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

