30 Days of Gratitude: Day 17

See the final results of my 30 Days of Gratitude challenge here: 30 Days of Gratitude: Final Reflections.

TGIF!! 😀 Here are the 5 things I’m grateful for today:

  1. My dogs. My roommate and I got dogs together, so technically one is mine and one is hers, but for all purposes we’re coparenting them. They can be quite a handful sometimes (they got sprayed by skunks last week and made the whole house smell), but they also bring me a lot of joy. There’s something about those cute faces and how they wag their tails that makes me happy. It also makes walks on the beach 100% better.
  2. Salads from work. My office has a “togo” section where they have pre-prepared sandwiches and salads. They’re the best! I’m eating a beet and goat cheese one right now… great combination!
  3. The great weather! It hasn’t rained for a week, and it’s expected to be sunny this weekend. I’m hoping to get a good hike in or something. I’ve planned to do this “random adventures” thing, where I pull up a map (with 50 mile radius from home) and then just drop a pin to find a place to explore. I could Yelp or Google in advance, but I found that those things just give me analysis paralysis – it’s like, “is this restaurant in San Francisco better than this one in Santa Cruz…?” And then I end up going to neither because I’m tired after wasting a bunch of time trying to plan a perfect day. 😛
  4. My part-time work boss. He’s super understanding. I meet with him once a week (off normal work hours) to get assignments and touch base. He always gives clear assignments, is available if I have any questions, and gives credit to me even when he doesn’t have to in meetings with the higher-ups. I really appreciate him! He’s the best boss I ever had.
  5. My roommate. This is a duplicate, like many of the things I’ve listed (I try not to – but can you really be TOO grateful for something?), but she noticed I was having a “binge eating episode” last night and stopped me. Sometimes, it’s really helpful just to have someone remind you about how you’re trying to overcome disordered eating patterns so you can stop. I tend to eat out of anxiety – but I’m also no stranger to eating for fun, out of boredom, etc. It’s something I’m working to overcome, that I plan to formally attack once I’ve completed my 30 Days of Gratitude. Seeing how much blogging about things I’m grateful for has helped improve my outlook, I’m excited to see what other areas in my life I can work to improve through blogging.

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

