30 Days of Gratitude: Day 18

See the final results of my 30 Days of Gratitude challenge here: 30 Days of Gratitude: Final Reflections.

I woke up depressed today. Not sure why, but I know those ‘depression chemicals’ (low dopamine? serotonin? I forget neuroscience 101) were kicking in. I’m lucky that I can generally tell when I’m having what I like to call a “depressive episode” – I don’t feel sad, per se, it’s more a feeling of helplessness. Kind of like, “everything sucks, and I want to do something about it, but I just can’t…” I’ve found that the best way to snap me out of the episode is to go out and do something. Even if I don’t feel like it, I’ll force myself. Sunshine and exercise is the best, but even shopping helps.

This morning, I decided to take advantage of the nice weather and longboard around some of my favorite parking lots near work. There’s something about needing to pay attention to not dying that keeps the depression at bay. Now, I’m feeling all better – still a little tired from work-related sleep deprivation, but ready to take on the day! So that said, here are the 5 things I’m thankful for:

  1. Public libraries. They’re AWESOME. I just checked out The Gratitude Diaries by Janice Kaplan and am so excited to read it. I just finished the forward, and Janice wrote about advising a friend to write down 3 things they’re grateful for every day – feels kind of cool that that’s exactly what I’m doing! 😀
  2. The weather is getting warmer. I’m blogging from the “greenhouse room” in my house (it’s a room extension where the ceiling is like one big skylight – it’s honestly exactly like a greenhouse, just connected to the house. It feels so warm and nice!! It’s a nice change from last week, when I was blogging in the greenhouse room and my hands felt like they were going to fall off, haha.
  3. My aeoniums (a type of succulent) are growing! I have 3 of them that I bought haphazardly last year. I had to replant them a couple months back when I found out one of them had mealybugs. I was really afraid the other ones wouldn’t make it because those infestations spread fast, but they did – and now they’re growing again! These aren’t my succulents, but here’s a larger version of what mine look like:
  4. Linchpin by Seth Godin. Just finished it this morning – it’s basically about how to be more than a cog at work. Ok, I’m sure some other people can give a better summary than I did (hence the Amazon link), but I’ve been having a bit of a “quarter life crisis” around “is this it?!” Meeting coworkers who have 5 to 10 years of experience over me cynically complaining about the corporate grind every day was depressing, so it was nice to see that I don’t have to become like them if I don’t want to. I choose my own destiny.
  5. Ridiculous things on the internet. Like this. So true.
Leave a Reply

