30 Days of Gratitude: Day 20

See the final results of my 30 Days of Gratitude challenge here: 30 Days of Gratitude: Final Reflections.

This morning was a little tough for me. I didn’t sleep too well the night before, which meant I was tired upon waking – but thanks to my gratitude practice, I was able to see the bright side of things. So here’s my list for today:

  1. I can sleep in. Haha, I sense the jealousy! Normally I try to be up by 7am, get to work by 8am, exercise for 30 minutes, and then at my desk around 8:30am. I was pretty tired this morning though, so I ended up sleeping in until around 8:45am. I’m very lucky to have a job where the time I get into the office doesn’t really matter.
  2. My office provides free breakfast. If I shared this gratitude list with my coworkers, they’d laugh and say “Don’t all tech companies do that?” and I suppose that’s kind of true, but that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t be thankful for it. Having free breakfast at the office (fresh strawberries!) makes my morning a lot more convenient. It’s also great to be able to get steel cut oatmeal, which normally takes 30 minutes to prepare.
  3. … and free lunch. I’m grateful for the cafeteria workers who work so hard to restock the buffet, and I’m grateful for all the awesome toppings they have in the salad bar. I know it’s a pain in the butt to prepare all those toppings – dicing beets, julienning carrots, pickling onions… it’s why I NEVER do mise en place when I cook, even though I’m supposed to. I’m very lucky to work at an office where they employ people to do those things for me.
  4. All the farmers who work so hard to grow all the produce I eat. I’ve tried gardening myself, and honestly, I don’t know how they do it. I have this little pepper plant in the backyard – do you know how many peppers it produced? Like 3. Maybe I just have a brown thumb, but I can’t imagine how many plants are needed to produce something like the fresh chunky salsa they have at breakfast.
  5. The Gratitude Diaries by Janice Kaplan. I just finished this book last night. It’s about a woman’s journey to be more grateful over the year. I’ve actually been following majority of the things she did – but one thing I had never considered was following a “Gratitude Diet” where you appreciate the food you eat and how it fuels your body. It made me realize that my disordered eating was the exact opposite of being grateful – during my binges, I’d scoff down food until I felt like I was going to throw up (sometimes I actually would). Instead of taking the time to savor the food and all the hard work that went into producing it, I’d mindlessly shove it in my mouth and then berate myself for “being a pig”. I do not blame myself for my disordered eating, because I know it is a coping mechanism from my past (I was an obese kid), but I’m hoping that focusing on being grateful for where my food comes from will help me stop these negative behaviors. In fact, when these 30 days are up, I’m plan to start a “Gratitude Diet” experiment.

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

