30 Days of Gratitude: Day 21

See the final results of my 30 Days of Gratitude challenge here: 30 Days of Gratitude: Final Reflections.

What a beautiful morning! It’s warm and sunny here in Silicon Valley – I feel so lucky to live here. And with that, here are the 5 things I’m thankful for:

  1. The climate! People at my office always complain about how expensive living in the SF Bay Area is – and they’re right, it’s expensive. You could definitely buy a sprawling mansion in the ‘flyover states’ (middle of the US) for what it costs to buy a small cottage here. That said, there’s so much (free) stuff to do here. The beach is an hour away, skiing is 3 hours away, hiking is in your backyard… how could you not be happy? I must say, though – if you’re not an outdoors person, it’s probably better to get buy that mansion in the middle of the US (and working in the Bay Area for a couple years as a software engineer will allow you to save up that money quick). I’m totally not judging you!
  2. My friends. A friend this morning just forwarded me an invite to a summit around Powerful Women in Tech. I feel so lucky that she thought of me – she’s totally a hotshot (think she made 30 under 30? Well, even if she didn’t, she’s on a lot of ‘top lists’ and stuff), and I’m sure there were so many other people she could think about… but she thought of me!
  3. My hair. I write about it because this morning, I was a little irked at some of the texture (thyroid problems left it a bit frizzier than it used to be). I’ve also lost some hair, because of stress after my past company folded (telogen effluvium). Then I thought about how grateful I am to even have a full head of hair, which is growing back nicely. People can’t even tell I’ve lost hair, because I had so much to begin with!
  4. Quiet office areas. When I’m trying to think something through, I need a quiet place to figure things out. I once worked in an office that didn’t have any quiet areas, and it was really tough. Now, I’m thankful that I work in an office that has places for me to sit and think through things.
  5. My coworkers! I really feel like I’m able to learn from them. I see senior engineers that write horrible code all the time and am afraid of becoming like them. Sometimes I wonder if those senior engineers write bad code because they never had any good mentors when they were junior. I mean, how would they know any better? I feel very lucky to be able to work with people who follow best practices and are always working to get better.

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

