30 Days of Gratitude: Day 22

See the final results of my 30 Days of Gratitude challenge here: 30 Days of Gratitude: Final Reflections.

I believe today would be a day most people would complain about – my car was recalled for a defective airbag AGAIN, when I just fixed the airbag last year. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t irritated, but my gratitude practice reminds me that I have many things to be thankful for. So here we go:

  1. I own a car in the first place. My parents bought me this car when I was 21. That means I don’t have monthly car payments like many people. Most kids don’t have their parents buy them a car outright. Even though the recalls are annoying, I’d much rather have a car and have recalls than not have a car and not have recalls.
  2. I found out about the recalls instead of getting hurt. I believe ~10 people have been killed by these defective airbags, and ~100 injured. I am very lucky that I received the first recall notice without getting hurt. And I am very lucky that I received the second recall notice without getting hurt as well. Like playing with fire!
  3. I was able to get an appointment to fix the car the coming Monday. That seems pretty fast, for the biggest recall in auto history.
  4. Last time my car got recalled, I got a rental car replacement. I really needed one immediately, since I had a trip and needed to drive to the airport. And it was pretty good – since I told them I was willing to take any car, I was able to get a Hyundai Elantra that was rejected 3 (!!) times before it came to me. It was a lot nicer than my normal car, actually. 😛
  5. The Honda dealer has wifi. Car service is never fun, but having wifi makes it a lot better! It means that I can work there, instead of just wasting the hours. They also offer free coffee and a pastry, which I never take them up on, but I appreciate the touch. I also appreciate how their bathrooms are nice and clean – for someone with stomach problems, a clean bathroom is gold.

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

