30 Days of Gratitude: Day 23

See the final results of my 30 Days of Gratitude challenge here: 30 Days of Gratitude: Final Reflections.

I’m still struggling to get back to my morning schedule after two weeks with long hours, but we’re getting there. Here are the things I’m grateful for today:

  1. One of my close friends reached out to me yesterday. I don’t see this friend much (she lives in Southern California and I live in Northern California), but when I do see her, it’s as if nothing has happened. She’s one of the most resilient people I know, and she manages to keep positive even when things aren’t going her way. She’s also super friendly and somehow gets everyone to like her – I’m jealous! I admire her a lot, and I’m happy that I know her.
  2. My parents. I’m grateful that my parents raised me to believe I can do anything if I put my mind to it. I was reading Secrets of Six-Figure Women by Barbara Stanny last night, and was shocked to learn that her father always operated with the assumption that women aren’t meant to work. Barbara tells a story where her father, the founder of H&R Block, threatened to take away her trust fund if her husband couldn’t manage it properly – and when Barbara asked her father why she couldn’t manage it herself, he just balked. Ridiculous! The ironic thing is, when I first read that Barbara inherited great wealth, I scoffed – “Why should I listen to someone born into this world with such a huge advantage? If I inherited that wealth, damn right I would invest it. The best way to make money is with money.” However, as I read on, I realized that Barbara’s father had instilled in her the idea that women weren’t meant to work, that women couldn’t be high earners, etc… which created self-doubt which caused her to stagnate professionally. Thanks to my progressive upbringing, I never grew up believing I was any less capable because of my gender. Maybe that’s why I’m a “six figure woman”?
  3. My part-time boss. I mention him a lot, but I’m very grateful for my work with him. He’s always understanding and clear with his assignments. I really lucked out getting my job with him!
  4. The friend who got me the job with the part-time boss. I’m very grateful that she got me the job. It has really helped my career and is a great source of extra cash.
  5. My coworkers. They weren’t too harsh reviewing my work today, which I appreciate. I also feel like I can learn a lot from them. I’m confident if I can get to their level, I’ll be ready to take on any job after this one.

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

