No Home Internet Challenge: Day 4

I just got an email from Sonic, my new internet provider, saying they shipped out my internet equipment and my apartment is already internet-ready! I pray that it’ll come soon. 😛 I’m interviewing for a part-time night job, which will require online meetings. If I get the position, work starts on Monday – while I know I can always meet at the office, it would be nicer to be able to take calls from home.

Another inconvenience is having to do my web development contract work from cafes during off-work hours instead of at home. I’m extremely lucky that my manager doesn’t want to meet this week, which means I can do the work over the weekend when I don’t have to worry about cafe opening/closing times as much. I’m slowly starting to confirm what I kind of already knew… it’s impossible to be a software engineer with no home internet. 😉 Sure teaches me to plan better next time!

That’s not to say it’s been all bad – one HUGE benefit I’ve noticed about not having home internet is my roommate and I go to bed a lot earlier. Before, she’d stay up really late watching Netflix. Even though I’d rarely join her, the light and noise from the laptop would keep me up later than I would otherwise. It’s been nice to have lights out by 11pm. I’m really going to miss it when the internet gets set up.

Leave a Reply

