No Home Internet Challenge: Day 7

Guess I can say I went a week without home internet, since it’s day 7! I took the day off my main job to meet the Sonic technician. I thank my lucky stars that this past few weeks have been pretty mellow – I can’t imagine what it would be like to move to a new apartment at the end of the quarter!

The Sonic technician was AWESOME. He was friendly, patient, and got everything set up without a hitch. It turns out that the electrical wiring in the building wasn’t set up correctly, so he had to move some wires around. Since he had worked in the apartment complex before, I didn’t even need to deal with management. In the end, the internet was twice as fast as Comcast, for half the price. I’m so glad that I took a chance on Sonic! 😀

I wouldn’t say I have any amazing insights from this challenge, but it was a great reminder that everything works out. It’s often difficult for me to remember that because I suffer from anxiety, but this week provided me significant reassurance that it’s OK if things aren’t perfect. There’s no need to freak out if you make a mistake. Everything will be fine as long as you calm down, focus, and start thinking of alternate solutions.

This past week, I managed to accomplish a lot of things that I wouldn’t have considered trying if I knew I wouldn’t have home internet – sell items on eBay, reschedule a flight, get a new job, and even complete my web development contract work. I admit that I was significantly aided by having a smartphone, guest wifi at the office, and wifi in my apartment building lounge, but this week showed me that I’m more resilient than I think I am. Next time I’m freaking out about something not being ideal, I’ll think back to this week. 🙂

The British have it right!
Leave a Reply

