30 Days of Productivity

For my next 30 day challenge, I’ve decided to work on productivity. I’ve never had serious issues with procrastination, but I do have a tendency to work very hard, burn myself out, take a bunch of time off, and then repeat. This cycle is far from optimal – and it has had flooded my days with stress while forcing me to use tons of time “recovering”. I suspect everything would run a lot more smoothly if I took a step back, identified a structured process for getting things done, and stopped the frantic cycle of working like crazy and then burning out. I ultimately hope that this challenge will enable me to accomplish more with less stress.

I’ve decided to break this challenge down by weeks:

Week 1: Inspection – figure out where my time is going

  • Track how I spend my day in 30-minute increments
  • Analyze where I am spending the most time by grouping activities into categories
  • Devise a plan for what I would like to change (spend less time doing X, more time doing Y)
Loving this Google UX

Week 2: Investigation – learn how people increase productivity

  • Googled “best productivity books”
  • Read Getting Things Done by David Allen and The One Thing by Gary Keller. I picked Getting Things Done since it seems to be on every list for “best productivity books” online. I picked The One Thing since a former coworker recommended it to me – and I often feel overwhelmed by all the many things I have to do
  • Summarize the insights I uncover
  • Continue to track my day

Weeks 3 & 4: Implementation – try the most promising strategies

  • Implement the strategies I’ve unveiled
  • Continue to track my day
  • Analyze my progress at the end of week 3 and tweak my approach if necessary
Leave a Reply

