30 Days of Meditation Challenge

So… I didn’t finish my last challenge, 30 Days of Productivity. That’s not to say I wasn’t productive – I just stopped blogging because I realized about halfway through that it wasn’t on my list of priorities! 😛 I mean, after spending ~3 hours making charts analyzing how I spend my time, I had to really reconsider – is THIS a good use of my time?

However, after 2 weeks, I realized that I really miss blogging! I’ve made so many changes in my life through these “30 Day Challenges” that it just doesn’t make sense for me to stop blogging altogether. Blogging keeps me accountable and helps me be mindful of my goals. Through this blog, I learned to be more grateful, cleaned up my diet (and lost 10 pounds), hired a personal trainer to help me lose the last 20 pounds, and adopted a minimalist lifestyle. As long as I stay away from Excel, I think I’m safe. 😉

For the next 30 days, I’m going to focus on meditating. I’ve been suffering from insomnia for the past month, which I believe is stress/anxiety related. My goal is to relax enough for the insomnia to go away. I’ve struggled with insomnia before when I was in between jobs, and it only went away after things settled down. Since I know life will always be stressful, I need to find a way to manage my stress instead of just waiting for things to calm down.

My goal for this challenge is to give meditation a fair chance. I’ve tried before, but I’ve never really taken it seriously. In this challenge, I will define meditation as anything that quiets my mind  – so not necessarily limiting myself to sitting on the floor and chanting “ommmmmmm”. In fact, I’ve found that things like coloring books, walking in the park, painting, journaling, and even longboarding helps calm me down. I think the most difficult part of this challenge will be to catch myself when I’m panicking and engage in an activity that nips the stress in the bud.

Here we go!

Leave a Reply

