30 Days of Meditation Challenge: Day 5

Maybe I spoke too soon! I’m back to sleepless nights – had a pretty sad sleep last night of only 3 hours. I didn’t fall asleep until 2:30am – and since I had to travel for work, got up at 5:30am. Most of that 3 hours was light sleep too. 😦 I’m sure things would’ve been a little better if it weren’t for the work travel, but what can you do?

Normally, I would’ve taken some melatonin to knock me out, but with the early wake time I didn’t want to chance it. I left the curtains open as well to insure I’d be woken up by the glaring sunrise early in the morning. I suppose it worked?

On the bright side, I have been a lot less stressed since I started this challenge – just shifting focus away from “productivity” to “relaxed, clear mind” has been a huge change. The ironic part of it is I’ve actually been more productive since I’ve stopped focusing on work – yesterday, I finally sat down and read 2 chapters of a technical book that I couldn’t get myself to read for the past few weeks! I didn’t even have to force myself… I actually felt genuine motivation returning. Funny how life works, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

